The 2024 season is around the corner and Israel – Premier Tech is pleased to announce one-year contract extensions for Israeli riders Guy Sagiv and Itamar Einhorn, who complete the team’s 30-rider roster.

Sagiv is set to line up for his 10th season with IPT, having joined the team from the very beginning, which represents a significant achievement for the 28-year-old.

I am going to start my 10th season as a rider. In fact, the team and I are celebrating our 10th season together which is pretty crazy. It was amazing to experience the team’s journey from the inside, from one of the smaller Continental teams to one of the big WorldTour teams. This progress felt slow at times, but the team made a series of significant leaps and is still making them year after year. Being part of this whole process has been very fulfilling and satisfying, and I am still full of motivation to continue for more years. My goal in 2024 is to be more consistent. There were several races in recent years where I played a significant role in the team’s excellent results, and I aspire to be there more often throughout the year,” says Sagiv.

Israeli road race champion Itamar Einhorn is looking to build on a solid 2023, which included a powerful sprint win on stage one of the Czech Tour, with his sights set on success with the team and representing Israel at the Olympic Games.

The 2023 season was not bad at all. I managed to earn a significant number of points for the team, I got my second stage race victory, and I worked hard. I hope to continue contributing next season in everything that will be asked of me, whether it be in the sprints or scoring points. I have a lot to give and a lot to show and I believe I haven’t yet reached my full ability, my full potential, and power, and I am confident that I will be able to prove that. I still want to achieve the tough task of winning a Belgian race, and I hope to have this opportunity, while my sights are also set on the Olympic Games in Paris. I worked hard this year to earn enough points to make that happen and I feel that I deserve to be the rider who represents Israel with honor,” adds Einhorn.

Photo: Itamar Einhorn taking victory at the Czech Tour in July

IPT owner Sylvan Adams acknowledges the impact the duo’s achievements have had on the team and Israeli cycling over the years, in what is a testament to the team’s success in developing Israeli cyclists.

As expected, Guy and Itamar are returning to IPT next year. Guy is our original Israeli, and has completed many firsts for Israel and for the team. This includes being the first Israeli rider to complete a Grand Tour, the Giro d’Italia in 2018. Guy was also the first Israeli male rider to race in the cycling world championships. Itamar is also a talented rider, and the first Israeli to win a UCI professional race when he outsprinted Peter Sagan at Sagan’s home race, the Tour of Slovakia, in 2021. Both are excellent examples of the development of Israeli cycling, and validation of our efforts in this area. Welcome back, guys. See you at our upcoming camp.”

The significance of racing on an Israeli team is not lost on Sagiv and Einhorn, both of whom acknowledge the responsibility they have in representing their country.

I think that the upcoming season will be more significant as an Israeli rider in an Israeli team,” says Sagiv. “Showing the people of Israel and the rest of the world that Israel can make headlines in sports and in a positive way. I even feel that it will be a kind of mission and my reserve duty. I hope and believe that the other riders on the team, and the Israeli riders in particular, will feel the same. We will do our best to continue to focus on sport and represent the team, ourselves, and the country with honor.”

Photo: Guy Sagiv will race his 10th season with IPT in 2024

Einhorn mirrors Sagiv’s words, highlighting his motivation to represent Israel on the world cycling stage.

The war started when I was in China when I had clear goals. But then everything, including the races, became so irrelevant. I was torn between so many factors that haunted me, whether I should stop racing at this time, and my concern for my country and my family. But now all of these factors are pushing me forward with determination to race successfully and represent my country with a lot of pride. I hope that my country will overcome these dark moments and the team and myself will be able to reach new heights and represent Israel proudly.”

Sagiv and Einhorn’s contract extensions bring IPT’s roster to 30 riders for the upcoming season, with the team welcoming several new riders in Ethan Vernon, Jake Stewart, George Bennett, Pascal Ackermann, and Michael Schwarzmann. Hugo Hofstetter returns after a two-year hiatus, and stagiaire Riley Sheehan will turn pro alongside IPT Academy graduates Riley Pickrell, Nadav Raisberg, and Oded Kogut.

The result is one of the strongest and most versatile rosters IPT has fielded in the team’s 10-year history says IPT General Manager Kjell Carlström.

Our rider roster for the 2024 season is complete and we have been able to add some great talent to the team. We have strengthened our sprint squad as well as our classics group with young and upcoming riders who will have some exciting opportunities, and as a team, I believe we can use our versatility to be up there in every kind of race. We are excited to bring the group together for the first time next week at our pre-season camp and hit the ground running at the Tour Down Under.”

I believe that the 2024 edition of Israel – Premier Tech will be our best in the 10-year history of the team,” adds Adams. “This will allow us to build from our successful 2023 campaign. We’ve shored up some weak areas with new signings, and seen the development of some of our young recruits. I think we will surprise some fans of the sport next year, and can’t wait to get started. Y’alla IPT.”

Israel – Premier Tech in 2024

Pascal Ackermann (GER)
George Bennett (NZL)
Guillaume Boivin (CAN)
Simon Clarke (AUS)
Itamar Einhorn (ISR)
Marco Frigo (ITA)
Chris Froome (GBR)
Jakob Fuglsang (DEN)
Derek Gee (CAN)
Hugo Hofstetter (FRA)
Mason Hollyman (GBR)
Hugo Houle (CAN)
Krists Neilands (LAT)
Oded Kogut (ISR)
Riley Pickrell (CAN)
Nadav Raisberg (ISR)
Matthew Riccitello (USA)
Guy Sagiv (ISR)
Nick Schultz (AUS)
Michael Schwarzmann (GER)
Riley Sheehan (USA)
Jake Stewart (GBR)
Corbin Strong (NZL)
Dylan Teuns (BEL)
Tom Van Asbroeck (BEL)
Ethan Vernon (GBR)
Stevie Williams (GBR)
Michael Woods (CAN)
Mads Würtz Schmidt (DEN)
Rick Zabel (GER)