The moment we’ve been waiting for has finally arrived.

Twelve Israel – Premier Tech riders are lining up to take on a series of one-day races – the last one finishing Sunday in Palma de Mallorca.

“We are confronting five different classics,” explained Team Director Oscar Guerrero. “And that means that each one of them will be much more intensive and less controlled. But, if we race well, it may play to our favor.”

Have no doubt, Oscar fully expects the team to perform.

“Of course, it’s just the beginning of the season, and the riders need time to adjust to the intensity to ride smoothly as a team – but we just finished a great training camp, and the boys are really race-hungry.”

So, what’s on the race docket in sunny Mallorca?

Three of the races are hilly and will likely end with a climbers’ showdown, including tomorrow’s opening which contains nine climbs!

Our leaders for these three races will be Ben Hermans and Australian newcomer Simon Clarke.

“I’m happy we can start racing again and get in some intense riding. I have good memories from 2011 when I won a race here, very similar to the race Friday, so if my legs will be up to it, it is a great opportunity. If not? It will help to build my shape,” said Hermans.

The other two races (Thursday and Sunday) are made for the sprinters, so on these days, Italian Giacomo Nizzolo will take the lead alongside Rudy Barbier.

Nizzolo: “I have good memories from Mallorca – my first race as a neo-pro. So, I can’t think of a better venue to start racing with my new team. My first challenge will come Thursday with a tough test – a challenging climb before the descent to the finish. That will help me get my legs ready for the race Sunday – a classic sprint that suits me.”

The team is excited to launch the race season at Challenge Mallorca, especially as it brings with it fond memories of races past; it was here that Andre Greipel won his first race with Israel Start-Up Nation. Now, with strong legs and a balanced line-up, we’re looking forward to bring home more victories.

Our whole squad for the five races:

Ben Hermans 🇧🇪
Jenthe Biermans 🇧🇪
James Piccoli 🇨🇦
Guy Niv 🇮🇱
Omer Goldstein 🇮🇱
Alex Cataford 🇨🇦
Simon Clarke 🇦🇺
Taj Jones 🇦🇺
Giacomo Nizzolo 🇮🇹
Rudy Barbier 🇫🇷
Sebastian Berwick 🇦🇺
Reto Hollenstein🇨🇭