Just two weeks after crafting that unforgettable victory in the Tour of Rwanda, Israel – Premier Tech’s two principal heroes are returning to action together – this time at the Tour de Taiwan – with hopes of replicating their success.

The duo consists of Joe Blackmore, the 21-year-old British sensation who dominated in Rwanda and emerged as the overall winner, and his older buddy, the Israeli champion Itamar Einhorn, who claimed two stage victories with powerful sprints.

This time in Taiwan, with three new teammates – Mason Hollyman, Daniel Lima, and Viggo Moore – in the squad, the goal remains the same: to clinch the overall win with the young Brit and give our Israeli sprinter the chance to shine. Einhorn’s opportunities are expected to arise during the opening criterium in Taipei on Sunday and the fifth and final stage, which concludes the race by traversing the island from north to south.

The race also features three hilly stages that will be crucial for the GC battle. However, the challenge lies in the fact that the hills are neither steep nor long, leading to expectations that the GC contenders will duke it out in selective sprints and vie for every bonus point available.

“It’s more complicated to win here than in Rwanda,” says Israeli Directeur Sportif Lahav Davidzon. “Joe, or any emerging candidate from our squad, will need to be quick in the finishes since the margins will be very slim. Every bonus second could be decisive. Ultimately, this is shaping up to be a more open race.”

Tour de Taiwan 2024 map

Nonetheless, both Blackmore and Einhorn are optimistic about their chances in Taiwan. “I think as a team, we’re in a good place with plenty of momentum to continue our success from Rwanda,” said the British rider. “The team looks strong for the GC here, with climbers and options to keep the race interesting across all stages and situations.”

Einhorn added: “Our squad in Taiwan is strong enough to repeat our success, but it will be anything but easy.”

IPT at the Tour de Taiwan

Riders: Joe Blackmore (GBR), Itamar Einhorn (ISR), Mason Hollyman (GBR), Daniel Lima (POR), Viggo Moore (USA)

Sports Directors: Ruben Plaza, Lahav Davidzon